evester22 (evester22) wrote in socal__artists,
evester22
evester22
socal__artists

full time assistant needed

Hey, I am Eva; I’m 24 years old and live in Pasadena. I’m a physically disabled dyke who is looking to hire a full time aide starting ASAP. The hours are M-F 9-5 and pay is $14/hour. I have quadriplegic cerebral palsy, which means I cannot walk, speak, or use my hands. I use a wheelchair to get around and communicate what I want to say by spelling out on a letterboard. This might seem daunting at first, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes really easy. So as my aide, you will assist me in daily life activities such as communicating, eating, note-taking, driving, etc.

Also, my aides help me do stuff I want to do, like having coffee with friends, and just chilling at home. I’m also a gender studies major at Oxy and do a moderate amount of GLBTQ activism, so you’ll probably assist me with that too (see www.queersonwheels.com). The requirements for the job are the strength to do regular lifting (to lift me sometimes, but I'm pretty small. and can help), a driver’s license and decent record (you’ll be driving my van), a moderately interesting personality, and a moderate interest in hanging out with a 24year-old dyke with a wacky sense of humor. It would be great if you had an interest in gender/queer studies too, since those are mostly the courses I will be taking. I don’t mean you have to know everything or even have taken classes in the field; just I don’t want you to be bored in class with me. This is not so much a “caretaking” job as a “hang out and help me” kind of job. We have to have some sort of interesting connection otherwise we’ll both be bored and I’m not cool with that. No experience required because I will train you, and all people welcome queer and straight.

If you are interested , email me about yourself and a resume at evasaidead@yahoo.com

 Thanks!

Eva

 

 



  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 0 comments